Hanukkah has past and we decided to extend our list of kosher vodka drinks in order to help find proper drink for Purim. What is kosher vodka? In general you don’t need a heksher to have kosher vodka on your table. But some of the producers might filter with help of non-kosher ingredients or milk, and it might be a problem from the position of various kosher authorities. So, actually kosher vodka is just usual vodka without color additives and problematic ingredients during processing. Eastern Europe traditions Everybody knows Latkes, but not everybody knows where it comes from. Latkes is
There are so many situations, when our precious mobile devices are not connected to Internet. And more and more people prefer not to have permanent Internet connection all the time even in home city, not speaking about going abroad.
Look at a Cat Seriously….summer vacations are coming and most of us are planning our vacation trips. At Kosherdev we made a list of tips to help your vacation planning go more smoothly.
If you haven’t watched “Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them” yet, you should. Because we consider it as the most Hanukkah movie of all ages. All who watched, know who is Jacob Kowalsky – baker, who wanted to start own business. Nobody would argue, that he is Jewish. He’s Jacob and he admired his grandma. When he comes to a bank for a loan, he offers donuts. But we all know, that Jewish donuts (sufganiyout) are eaten for Hanukkah. So, he is so sure, that everybody would love to buy a sufganiya from his shop on Hanukkah time, that
We are working now on a new app, which will help communities and Jewish organizations to create own kosher lists.
Strawberries are one of most popular and favourite fruits among adults and children. However, be careful while eating – some berries can be infected by insects.
One of the most important commandments for Passover is to tell the story of Pesach to kids.
We collected some fun videos to make the story more interactive and fun. Share with us your favourite videos.
From the standpoint of the recipe, matzah (unleavened bread) which we are commanded to eat on the first day of the Passover is one of the easiest products: water, flour – that is it; any additives or additions make it unsuitable for keeping the commandments, or even non-kosher. However, Jews would not be Jews unless they found even here a place for different opinions and approaches.
According to Talmud, on the day of Purim one should be fuddled so much that they are unable to distinguish between “God damn Haman” and “God bless Mordechai!” (Megila, 7b) Since the dawn of time, Jews have been organizing on this day generous libation; as Polina (Pesya) Vengerova who has grown up in a traditional shtetl recollects: “special attention on this evening was payed to drinks, which actually was by no means common at our home. It even seemed to me that if anyone on Purim drank too much, father treated it as a kind and charitable deed”. Therefore, we find the feast of Purim a worthy cause to talk about the kosher status of wine.
In modern production instead of natural milk, it is increasingly being used so called dry milk (milk powder) – instant substance produced by drying normalized pasteurized milk. Primarily, it is caused by technical considerations – dry milk could be stored much longer than natural.