Articles

Why Fantastic Beasts is the most Hanukkah movie of all ages?

If you haven’t watched “Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them” yet, you should. Because we consider it as the most Hanukkah movie of all ages. All who watched, know who is Jacob Kowalsky – baker, who wanted to start own business. Nobody would argue, that he is Jewish. He’s Jacob and he admired his grandma. When he comes to a bank for a loan, he offers donuts. But we all know, that Jewish donuts (sufganiyout) are eaten for Hanukkah. So, he is so sure, that everybody would love to buy a sufganiya from his shop on Hanukkah time, that

Continue Reading...

Our Poverty Bread

From the standpoint of the recipe, matzah (unleavened bread) which we are commanded to eat on the first day of the Passover is one of the easiest products: water, flour – that is it; any additives or additions make it unsuitable for keeping the commandments, or even non-kosher. However, Jews would not be Jews unless they found even here a place for different opinions and approaches.

Continue Reading...

Purim and Kosher Status of Wine

According to Talmud, on the day of Purim one should be fuddled so much that they are unable to distinguish between “God damn Haman” and “God bless Mordechai!” (Megila, 7b) Since the dawn of time, Jews have been organizing on this day generous libation; as Polina (Pesya) Vengerova who has grown up in a traditional shtetl recollects: “special attention on this evening was payed to drinks, which actually was by no means common at our home. It even seemed to me that if anyone on Purim drank too much, father treated it as a kind and charitable deed”. Therefore, we find the feast of Purim a worthy cause to talk about the kosher status of wine.

Continue Reading...

Should dry milk be kosher?

In modern production instead of natural milk, it is increasingly being used so called dry milk (milk powder) – instant substance produced by drying normalized pasteurized milk. Primarily, it is caused by technical considerations – dry milk could be stored much longer than natural.

Continue Reading...

Is non-Jewish milk kosher?

Many people mistakenly believe that for religious Jews with milk, unlike with meat, everything is simple: it is sufficient to make sure that it is produced from the kosher animal and a required amount of time as passed after having a meal that contained meat – and that’s it – you can drink it for your pleasure. However, Jews would not be Jews if such important issue would be so easy.

Continue Reading...

Why turkey is kosher?

Unlike mammals and fish, it is not mentioned in Tora any formal factors which woulld allow to distinct between kosher birds and non-kosher. Pentateuch only limits by specifying 24 species of birds which are prohibited for Jews to eat. (Vayikra, 11:13-19; Devarim, 14:12-18). What is more, over time Jews had forgotten what are these birds and as a result were forced to limit themselves with a small number of birds concerning which existed a stable kosher tradition.

Continue Reading...